The Map of Afrikaans spoken Area

Language Information:

Afrikaans is a Low Franconian West Germanic language descended from Dutch which was originally brought to the south Africa by Dutch settlers. Afrikaans is spoken mainly in South Africa and Namibia. There are also speakers of Afrikaans in Australia, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Germany, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the UK, the USA, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

With 7.2 million (2023 data) native speakers and 18.8 million L2 speakers or 14% of the population of the Republic of South Africa, it is the third most-spoken language there.

South Africa 2011 dominant language map

The teal area(mostly at the southwest coastal area) are the location of Afrikaans speakers in RSA

Afrikaans is not currently taught at IU. 

Afrikaans Pronunciation

Lesson 1

Lesson 2

Lesson 3