Indiana University Bloomington


Swahili (Kiswahili)

Swahili, or Kiswahili, is the language of over 50 million people in Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania, as well as in parts of Somalia, Central African Republic, Rwanda, Burundi, and the Comoro Islands. Kiswahili is the lingua franca of many of these countries and is the official national language of Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda. Kiswahili is also used as one of the working languages of the African Union.

Swahili is taught at all levels here at Indiana University through the African Studies Program. There are regular conversation hours and meetups on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays.