Indiana University Bloomington


Sámi (Formerly Lapp)

The Sámi or Saami languages are Uralic languages with about 24,500 speakers in Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia. The area traditionally inhabited by the Sámi people is known as Sápmi in North Sámi, Saemie in South Sámi and Sameland in Norwegian and Swedish. The Sámi languages are divided into two groups: Western and Eastern, and there are various subdivisions within each group. The Sámi languages were formerly known as Lapp, but that name is now considered derogatory.

Sámi is not currently taught on the IU campus, but we do have access to archived materials. Learn more about Sámi (Formerly Lapp) here.